Skip to content
19. September, 2010 / Idun

Interior lighting tests

I recently did a few light tests with my vessels, exploring how artificial light might affect them. I used a simple spot to light them from the inside. I have until now only used natural light, and focusing on the interior space in the vessels, but seeing how the exterior light affects the void inside, I thought I would want to do a bit of exploration into switching the roles around, and bringing the light into the vessel and explore the how exterior surface is affected.

I am very pleased with the results of these little tests. It is a wonderful way of taking the interior effect and bring it to the surface. It also beautifully underlines the building technique, clearly showing the uneven thickness and every mark my fingers have made during the build. The light is wonderfully soft, and the various colours and their placement can create some very interesting light effects. You can clearly see how the presence of colour really affects the light flow. I find this immensely interesting, and I can definitely see myself incorporating artificial light in future work.

Leave a Reply

